top of page



Upwey’s Cameron Wheeler has been named for his second consecutive season in the Victorian Country Cricket League Team of the Year.


The 23 year old Jack Feaver Medalist was recognized for his fantastic season in Norm Reeves Shield during 2017/18, a Home and Away season in which he claimed 49 wickets at an average of 10.31, including six 5-wicket innings and two 10-wicket matches. Wheeler also amassed 332 runs at an average of 36.89, including a high score of 90 not out against Eildon Park.


The Team was announced during the VCCL Annual General Meeting held at the CitiPower Centre at Junction Oval, St Kilda on Sunday 5th August.


VCCL President and 2017/18 VCCL Chairman of Selectors, Kelvin White, noted Wheeler’s inclusion during the presentation.


“Cameron is fast becoming an unstoppable presence within the Ferntree Gully & District Cricket Association, with his statistics underscoring his credentials as one of the most talented all rounders within the Region.”, White said.


“His inclusion for a second time into the VCCL Team of the Year sees him join 7 other illustrious cricketers to have been selected twice into the team.”


Ferntree Gully & District Cricket Association President, Colin Capon, praised the achievements of Wheeler across the season to achieve such a prestigious place in the team.


“It is always a highlight from an Association standing watching Cameron play and display the many talents that he possesses”, Colin said.


“Whether with bat or ball, Cameron’s ability to influence and have a presence in a match against highly talented opposition is not only what makes our Association such a strong environment for those skills to be allowed to flourish, but also an environment for appreciation of these talents on display that Cameron shows the cricketing community on a frequent basis”.


Wheeler has now claimed 121 wickets in his 38 matches across 3 seasons in Norm Reeves Shield, whilst accumulating 677 runs during the process.






Simon Harkness                   South West                          810 runs @ 101.25           2 wkts @ 33.5

Sean O’Neill                         Geelong                                  714 runs @   71.4                                 

Ben Way (c)                         Gisborne                               820 runs @   91.11            2 wkts @ 68.5    

Andrew Hughes                  Geelong                                 741 runs @   82.3              14 wkts @ 25.57

Travis O’Connell                 Emu Valley                           683 runs @   75.89            1 wkt  @  47        

Shaun McArthur                 Grenville                               657 runs @   73                 18 wkts @ 9.22  

Andrew Hogan                    Murray Valley                     509 runs @   50.9              41 wkts @ 9.51  

Shannon Pool                      Murray Valley                     28/2 = 30 dismissals        222 runs @ 22.2

Stephan Grobler                 Bairnsdale                             44 wkts @ 9.23                  374 runs @ 41.56

Cam Wheeler                       Ferntree Gully                    49 wkts @ 10.31                332 runs @ 36.89

Dale Kerr                               Bellarine                               50 wkts @  7.08                 290 runs @ 29   

Madushanka  Ekanayake Gisborne                               51 wkts @  8.47                 185 runs @ 18.50

bottom of page