top of page
Bears Win Week Off

FTGDCA Semi Finals

By Ian Harley


The Basin has won the right to host the Norm Reeves Shield Grand Final in two weeks' time, meeting the winner of Knoxfield and Belgrave who will face one another next week at Carrington Park.

Chasing 239 the Knights needed partnerships and sadly only Ben Gerloff (41) and Luke Scanlan (44) held some sway over the Basin bowling. The Bears attack shared the early wickets around but it was Scott Vozzo who imposed himself on the game taking 4/40 as the Knights struggled to make any inroads being dismissed for 160.

On day one Knoxfield would have been happy to see the back of Jake Best and have The Basin 2/26 in the first 13 overs of the day. The Bears fought back with Danny Rundle (30), Josh Lee (70) and Jayden Turcinovic (51) combining to get the Bears to 3/141. Enter Mitch Burley, snaring the wickets of Turcinovic, Vozzo, and Heskes in four overs. The Basin fell to 7/163 before Steve Ryan (45) joined Lee getting them past 200. The Bears finished the day at 9/239. For the Knights Scott McKenzie took the two early wickets and came back to remove Lee, while Luke Scanlan also took 3 wickets.

The Knights have lost their last three games and will face a buoyant Belgrave who were involved in an epic arm wrestle with Ferntree Gully.

The Blues started their run chase on day two in the worst possible way loosing 2/1 but it was Jayden Bradbury who stepped to the fore and anchored the Ferntree Gully run chase. Bradbury enjoyed partnerships with Wayne McInerney (39), Bryce Galvin (47) and Shane Richardson (51) before being dismissed for 123 with the score at 6/252. Shane Richardson managed to muster the tail to 8/292 before he fell. The game ended in 78th over with the last wicket putting on a partnership of 34 for an antagonisingly close total of 326. The Magpies, a bowler down with the injury to Fernando, chipped away at the Blues line up and never seemed panicked. Youngster Tyler Argoon was entrusted with bowling at the death and picked up 3/52. Luke Manion snaffled 4 wickets including the wicket of Bradbury.

Belgrave were sent in to bat on day one and the Blues had the wickets of Levell and Oaten back in the shed with 29 on the scoreboard. This brought Dinusha Fernando to the wicket joining Robert Broley in a 134 run partnership. Broley was out after tea for a well compiled 51. Simon Hill then joined Fernando to take the score to 3/225 before Hill was out for 40. Dinusha finally retired hurt after injuring his back on 120 leaving Matt Johnson (55*) to bring the Belgrave total to 6/343.

In DeCoite Shield Upper Gully hosted Lysterfield and batted first. The Lysterfield attack had removed Peter Dunlop, Josh Dowling and Guy Balmford inside the first 23 overs to have the Kings on the backfoot at 4/56. Upper Gully made it to 6/94 at tea before being dismissed for 130 with Adam Kinniburgh claiming 5 scalps. The Kings came out firing and reduced the Beavers to 2/8 with Nathan Walsh out, before a wicket in the final over saw Lysterfield finish the day on 3/33.


Day two saw wickets fall regularly whenever The Beavers looked to take control of the game. Steve Collard was the best of the bowlers for the Kings, who maintained pressure on the Beavers batting line up from ball one. The Kings will now await the winner of Lysterfield and Auravale

Aura Vale set Footballers a target of 331 for victory after Brad Miles struck a century for the Lakers. Daniel Morrison (58) and Troy McDermott (34) also chimed in to cause the Griffens some pain. In reply Footballers started well losing their first wicket at 47. With the score at 3/80 Nicholas Bogar (100) joined Cohen McElroy (50) and set about chasing down the target with a 113 run partnership. Unfortunately for the Bears the dismissal of McElroy and Lakshita saw Footballers lose 6/36 to finish with 267. Jason Dodd took 4/48 as the Lakers push one week further into finals.

Norm Reeves Shield
The Basin 9/239 (D. Rundle 30, J. Lee 70, J. Turcinovic 51, S. Ryan 45, S. McKenzie 3/62, M. Burley 3/58, L. Scanlan 3/76) def Knoxfield 160 ( B. Gerloff 41, L. Scanlan 44, S.Vosso 4/40)
Belgrave 6/343 (D. Fernando 120 ret hurt, R. Broley 51, S.Hill 40 M. Johnson 55*) def Ferntree Gully326 (J. Bradbury 123, W. McInerney 39, B. Galvin 47, S. Richardson 52, L. Manion 4/80, T. Argoon 3/52)

Decoite Shield
Upper FTG 136 (Kinnibugh 5/38) def Lysterfield 109 (S. Collard 3/16)
Auravale 330 (B. Miles 108, D. Morrison 58, T. Mc Dermott 34) def FTG Footballers 267 (C. McElroy 50, N.Bogar 100, J. Dodd 4/58)

Division 3
Knoxfield 9/176 (Milligan 64, Grant 59) def Knox Gardens 171 (Evans 5/24, Sundaresh 4/51)
The Basin 4/116 (Cook 49*) def Eildon Park 111 (Fay 4/17, Underhill 3/37)

Division 4
Upper Ferntree Gully 1/52 def South Belgrave 49 (M. Oliver 5/19, R. Birnie 5/20)
Lysterfield 3/94 (Peatling 41*) def FTG Footballers 94 (Gale 47, D. Ricardo 4/34 inc hat trick)

Division 5
Knoxfield 257 (Jayd.Scanlan 71, Mitchell 46, C.Pruysers 31, Wallace 3/34, Pittman 3/119) def  The Basin 162 (Bunker 46, Freeling 33, Stewart 6/59, Plumridge 4/41)
Lysterfield 8/182 (Lima 68* Fisher 3/34) def Waverley Wanderers 10/179 (Fisher 30 Yallop 5/48, Bawden 3/23)

Division 6
Upwey Tecoma 8/133 (N. Somerville 35, M.Francis 4/26) def Johnson Park 131 (M. Greyer 31)

Eildon Park 9/280 (Kallista 101*, Searle 3/31) def Belgrave 7/205 (Dodds 52, Conduit 33)

Division 7
Upper Ferntree Gully 8/241 (Brooke 82, Hevern 3/49, Fisher 2/36) def Upwey/Tecoma 231 (Daven 56, Squires 49, Dennis 32, Barnard 32,  Corrigan 4/26, Padwel 3/21) 
Knox Gardens 4/204 (B.Bredin 55*, A.Thompson 55, C.Stuckey 53*) def Monbulk 10/127 (B.Jamonts 38, B.Badgery 31, J.Deveson 4/32, S.Christensen 3/14, J.Woodcock 3/26)

Waverley Wanderers def Upper FTG forfeit
Sth Belgrave 6/175 (M. McDermott 50, G.Steele 39) def St Johns Tecoma 83 (B. Miller 4/25, M.Sheridan 3/8)

Bayswater 129 def Basin 115
Ferntree Gully 2/176 (Vanlierop 51* Greenall 50* defLysterfield 5/169 (Thompson 34 Whitty 53*)

U/16's 1's
Knox Gardens 166 (Marget 39, Morrison 31, Robertson 4/32) def Knoxfield  161 (Quigley 55, Dunning 30)

Eildon Park Panthers 8/229 (Pollard 62, Anderson 35, Gwynne 35, C. Edwards 3/29) def The Basin 8/224 (C. Edwards 59, T. Edwards 50, Dobson 41, Anderson 3/34


U/16's 2's

Eildon Park 5/121 (Madike 37, Keir 30) def Monbulk 9/119

Johnson Park 143 (Saultry 69) def Lysterfield 93 (Myszka 33)

Upper Ferntree Gully 204 (Beyer 59, Henry 27, McKinnon 36, Caeser19*) def Mazenod 184 (Arundell 51*, Kurt 50*, McKinnon 4/36, Lord 2/29)

Rowville 7/147 (Zacky 51*, Sircar 41) def Eildon Park 52 (Blackman 5/14)



bottom of page