top of page

Senior Representative Cricket


By Richard Millott


Preparations for the Melbourne Country Week are in full swing with the naming of the final FTGDCA squad to take part in the Championships in February.

Fresh from a successful Victorian Country Championship squad, Lysterfield’s Nathan Walsh will captain the squad of 16 made up from 9 clubs.

The squad provides balance between both bat and ball, as well as experience and new comers in the form of Mitch Ley (Johnson Park), Jurgen Andersen (Eildon Park) and Joey Hawke (The Basin). Experienced representatives also make up the squad, with senior Country Week players like Pete Dunlop (Knox Gardens), Steve Devenish (Johnson Park), Zac Wilson (Knoxfield), Jayden Bradbury (Ferntree Gully) and Cameron Wheeler (Upwey) helping to build on momentum.

The squad will be looking to further enhance on last season’s efforts, where the squad made the Provisional Division Finals the first year after being promoted back, being knocked out by eventual premiers Geelong C.A.

Melbourne Country Week 2020 commences on 17 February in an away fixture against Mornington Peninsula C.A. at Jubilee Park in Frankston, before hosting Traralgon & District C.A at Camberwell on the Tuesday fixture. Round 3 of the group stages will conclude on Wednesday against Bendigo District C.A. at Gordon Barnard Reserve in North Balwyn. Semi Finals (Thursday 20th February) and the Final (Friday 21st February) will conclude the showpiece tournament.

The FTGDCA Country Week Squad will first take to the field on January 26th in a Fundraising T20 match against an Invitational Squad at Batterham Park as part of Bushfire Relief Round. Whilst the Invitation Squad will be announced shortly, all funds raised on the day will go towards Gippsland Emergency Relief Fund to help provide relief and assistance to communities affected by bushfires currently occurring within the Gippsland Region.


2020 FTGDCA Melbourne Country Week – Final Squad

Nathan Walsh (Lysterfield C.C.) – Captain

Peter Dunlop (Knox Gardens C.C.)

Aaron Brunner (Belgrave C.C.)

Jules Whetstone (Upwey C.C.)

Blake Walter (The Basin C.C.)

Jarrod McPhee (Belgrave C.C.)

Steve Devenish (Johnson Park C.C.)

Zac Wilson (Knoxfield C.C.)

Jayden Bradbury (Ferntree Gully C.C.)

Nathan Hicks (Lysterfield C.C.)

Cameron Wheeler (Upwey C.C.)

Joey Hawke (The Basin C.C.)

Jurgen Andersen (Eildon Park C.C.)

Scott McInerney (Knox Gardens C.C.)

Mitch Ley (Johnson Park C.C.)

Trent Atkinson (Knoxfield C.C.)

Coach: Dain Howe (Upwey C.C.)

A final squad of 17-18 will be announced just before Christmas. Players may be added to or removed from the squad based on form/availability.

The carnival runs from February 16 - 21, with the squad participating in the Provincial division for the 2nd consecutive year.

bottom of page