top of page

Bendigo Country Week


A young and energetic Ferntree Gully & District Cricket Association team progressed to the final of the Division 1 Bendigo Country Week after impressive wins against powerhouse Goulburn Murray Cricket Association, and last season’s finalists Castlemaine & District and Northern Districts.    However a loss to Gisborne & District Cricket Association on day 4 saw the Gully in second place on the table and a replay show down against Gisborne in the final at the Queen Elizabeth Oval.      Unfortunately rain intervened and the game was abandoned at lunch without a ball being bowled and Gisborne claimed the title after topping the ladder.   Upper Ferntree Gully’s star recruit Guy Balmford was the player of the series scoring 233 runs @ 116.


Round 1

FTGDCA 6/143 (S. Devenish 38 G. Balmford 49* J. Morsello 25) def Goulburn Murray 108 (C. Wheeler 2/12 J. Lindner 2/15 B. Paull 4/31 D. Bandaranaike 2/5)

Round 2

FTGDCA 5/224 (H. Brown 33 G. Balmford 52* J. Bradbury 78 N. Hicks 43) def Northern Districts 7/220 (S. Devenish 2/59 C. Cosstick 2/47)

Round 3

FTGDCA 8/258 (S. Devenish 28 G. Balmford 101 j. Bradbury 28 J. Morsello 77) def Castlemaine & District 9/169 (J. Lindner 2/17 B. Paull 3/27)

Round 4

Gisborne & District 5/225 (N. Hicks 4/35) def FTGDCA 85 (G. Balmford 31)

Final @ QEO

Gisborne & District Vs FTGDCA (wash out) Premiers - Gisborne & District

FTGDCA – Bendigo Country Week Squad (Jan 18-22)


Cameron Cosstick            Capt         Eildon Park

Nathan Hicks                                      Eildon Park

Jayden Bradbury              VC             Ferntree Gully

Harrison Brown                                 Ferntree Gully

Cameron Wheeler                             Mt Gate

Josh Lindner                                       Mt Gate

Joe Morsello                                        Rowville

Guy Balmford                                     Upper Gully

Steve Devenish                                   Johnson Park

Brayden Wright                                  Johnson Park

Brad Paull                                           Lysterfield

Daniel Bandaranaike                        Rowville


Selectors reserve the right to add or delete players from the squad at any time.

bottom of page