top of page


By Richard Millott

It was a thrilling conclusion to the 2020/21 Home and Away Season in the Ferntree Gully District Cricket Association.

Ferntree Gully denied Knoxfield a berth in this season’s Finals and safeguarded their own after accounting for the Knights by 3 wickets. The visitors batted first with Clint Buckland (39) the pick of the scorecard amongst several starts, whilst with the ball the Blues shared the wickets around as the score reached 5/178. Matt Plumridge (3/22) did all that was possible to bowl the Knights back into the 4, but efforts from Jayden Bradbury (45) and Pat Mastertoun (34*) got the Blues home at 7/179 in the 36th over. The Blues now will shape up for hosting duties in next week’s Elimination Final.

Lysterfield are the Minor Premiers after an early day against Ferntree Gully Footballers. The Beaver bowlers were all over the visitors early, with James Yallop (3/10) and Cam Cosstick (3/23) providing plenty of headaches for the Griffin bats who were dismissed for 74. In reply, Ben Rawlings provided hope of a low-scoring turnaround with 3/26, however the Beavers secured the win in the 19th over of the chase reaching 5/75. Lysterfield will play host to Upwey Tecoma next week with a spot in the Grand Final the reward to the victor.

The Basin also have secured their Finals placing after an 18 run win over Monbulk, despite the heroics of Jason Fraser. Adam Masters (46*), Jake Sherriff (42*) and Scott Vozzo (30) were all highlights during their stays at the crease with the solid batting effort posting 6/227 by innings end. In reply the Hawks were right in the contest by the mercurial efforts of Jason Fraser, the scorecard highlight alongside Justin Creed (69) as Fraser finished on 108 not out. However the chase wasn’t to be, despite finishing at 5/209. The Basin will now prepare to take on Ferntree Gully next week.

Upper Ferntree Gully finished the year on a bright note after posting another win, this time against Knox Gardens by 4 runs. The Kings batted first with Craig Bridle (47) the star of the batting card, whilst with the ball Jarrod Butcher has continued his patch of form, claiming 4/35. The hosts finished their innings at 9/179. The Falcons set off in chase with Adam Wylde (53*) and Joe Morsello (35) doing all in their power to finish the season strongly, but Robbie Blew (3/44) helped to slow the chase just enough to end the match at 6/175.

Johnson Park and Belgrave played out a ripper at Belgrave Reserve, with the Magpies securing the points. The Sharks batted first and once again Steve Devenish did Steve Devenish things - the mainstay of the innings with 116, whilst with the ball Thyler Argoon claimed 4/36 as the visitors reached 8/222. Not to be outdone, the Magpie bats were just as responsive in the chase. Aaron Brunner (84), Chad Hitchcock (52) and Jarrod McPhee (49) all posted scores as the hosts chased hard towards the target and the safety of 6 points. Tom Nash (3/38) was defiant with the ball in hand, however Belgrave got the chocolates with 5 balls to spare at 6/223. With results going other ways, both teams will remain safe in Norm Reeves Shield for next season.

Upwey-Tecoma found their form again at the right time against Eildon Park. The Tigers set the target score of 4/202, with Jackson Waters (73) and Cameron Wheeler (51) both registering half-centuries, whilst Jules Whetstone (40) also posted well in the top order. In response, the Panthers were well served by David Smyth (49) and Jacob Evans (42), however Jay Colee (3/23) ensured the hosts were unable to chase the total down – dismissed for 173. Upwey-Tecoma now travel to Lysterfield with a view of booking a place in the Grand Final.

In Decoite Shield, Olinda were able to take away a final round win against the Minor Premiers St Johns Tecoma. The Saints batted first, losing 3/2 across the top order before Tyson Smith posted 76 not out at better than a run-a-ball to help the visitors to 8/172. Dominic Woodfield was the pick of the attack with 3/34. In response, Olinda got off on the right foot with Adrian Willoughby (44), Ted Box (34) and Tim Scott (49*) all firing to get the hosts to 4/176. St Johns Tecoma now turn their attention to next week when they come up against South Belgrave.

Knox Gardens came up against Rowville, with the Falcons securing the win and therefore hosting rights for next week’s Elimination Final. The Falcons had several starts to push the innings total along, whilst Monto Perera (3/26) and Mohit Mandora (3/28) got amongst the wickets to keep the score at 146. However the Falcons were equally up to the task with ball in hand, restricting the Hawks’ chase with Nav Singh (4/16) and Spencer Stuckey (3/32) bowling the hosts to the win. Rowville in chase were dismissed for 120 and will be looking towards next week’s return match to keep their season continuing.

South Belgrave secured 2nd place after a win over Mountain Gate at HV Jones. The Gators were underpinned by efforts from Mitch Goddard (51) and Aiden Whitfield (42) to reach 8/136 from the overs. However South were able to successfully chase down the target, reaching 3/140 in the 36th over.


LYSTERFIELD – 81PTS (1.507%)
UPWEY- TECOMA – 78PTS (1.636%)
THE BASIN – 60PTS (1.202%)
Knoxfield – 54pts (1.036%)
Knox Gardens – 45pts (1.330%)
FTG Footballers – 39pts (0.907%)
Belgrave – 33pts (0.690%)
Johnson Park – 27pts (0.749%)
Monbulk – 24pts (0.923%)
Eildon Park – 24pts (0.643%)
Upper FTG – 15pts (0.648%)


ST JOHNS TECOMA – 66PTS (1.805%)
KNOX GARDENS – 54PTS (0.934%)
ROWVILLE – 51PTS (0.941%)
Olinda – 36pts (0.951%)
Mountain Gate – 3pts (0.573%)

bottom of page